Just ask….

It is so amazing to me that we can skate through our day to day routines and miss the little gems that are scattered about for us to find. This is the stuff life is made of.

I found myself this morning returning to my occasional coffee shop in search of hot spring jasmine tea and a bit of solitude. My goal was to basically crawl back inside my head and read or research things on my computer. To my surprise, the most amazing thing happened. My favorite barista, Hide Terada, (pronounced He Day), that I have only met maybe once and that was weeks ago, remembered every little detail of my comings and goings at Hereghty’s Cafe; the fact I was researching and planning a trip, what I drink and even my name! We have only met once formally. The kicker is that he is a photographer! And with my recent foray back into the visual arts I now have a new sense of connection with another fabulous human being and not my computer! My point is that basic human interaction on a day to day basis has gone by the way side which is no surprise to anyone. Oh but the joy in that interaction! To know that someone is interested in what my brain holds and wants to share in that space makes my heart sing. I fly many miles to seek out this very thing in workshops and it is in my back yard.So chat it up with your barista, your neighbor, the check out girl. Take a different path today. Make the world go round.

The lovely ending to this tale is I have something to offer too! My head is reeling with new possibilities. Hide feels artistically blocked and maybe I can help him get unstuck. I’m envisioning a photo/blogging group meet up at Hereghty’s, and or a camera photo challenge just to make it fun and interesting. Shake things up and get the creative juices flowing. And with all of the interaction with Kate and Andrew and the tentacles of connections they have formed we can all use technology to really bring like minded people together.

About baba paul

Crazy for photography, jewelry, travel and people. Most of the photos on this site were taken with an iphone!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just ask….

  1. Wonderful what each day can bring!
    Love this entry.
    Hugs, Jeannette

  2. katemckinnon says:

    Exactly how I feel, every day. All around us is wonder. All we actually have to do is open our eyes and our hearts to it, and it fills us to overflowing.

  3. For many years, I was a barista. I think one of my favorite things about the job was that I could connect with so many people. Day by day, little by little, pieces of the lives of the patrons would become more pronounced. Still to this day, I keep in contact with many of the beautiful people I met during this time. Isn’t it miraculous that we are apart of other’s stories, just as much as they are apart of our’s?

    And do let us know when you plan your meet up!

  4. Dawn says:

    Passion…….just ask and you find it in the most ordinary places! Ain’t life grand?

  5. TM says:

    I’m interested in what your brain holds…

  6. merylruth says:

    Baba it sounds like you’ve had an extraordinary journey. I’ve loved reading your posts and being absorbed by your soulful photography. Please keep blogging and shooting. I love hearing the passion in this post.

    • baba paul says:

      Meryl, I am rejeuvenated and feel so fortunate to have made all of these new connections. Who knew when we met before that we would get into all of this and be able to keep up with each other? I guess Kate and Andrew! Please keep your blog up too. It is delightful.

  7. Hall says:

    Could not have been said any better…..I tend to take for granite the small little things that occurr each and everyday and am disappointed when what is supposed to happen doesn’t? Being present is a struggle….not having a plan would on many levels be??? scary!Opening my mind and eliminating judgements is a start. Thanks

Leave a Reply

