Happiness

Notre Dame 2009

Travel works for me! Paris anyone?

What makes you happy? I mean really smiling from the inside happy? According to a radio show I just listened to, it is social interaction and not simply money or other “things”. Makes sense to me.

How often do you get asked “what have you been up to” and you can’t exactly say? Happens to me at least once or twice a day. I think that and the weather conversation are about the same and it drives me batty. Anyhow, I feel like months, years, hours, minutes evaporate before my very eyes and I don’t know what happened to them or what I did. It dawned on me that when I am in a social setting i.e. workshop, coffee clatch, really fun party, etc where there is stellar social interaction and great communication I can remember all of the details and I smile a big smile inside. So, Jimmy Choo’s may give you a temporary high but the meat of it is that you need to get out or skype or whatever it is to mingle and just “be” around other people. Oh, and it helps if they are like-minded.

So it makes sense that instead of exercising I enjoy a steaming mug of tea with my new friends at Starbucks or Hereghty’s. I certainly won’t get in shape but my mental health will be stronger. And a visit to my favorite bead store, Ornamentea works too. I felt like a million bucks after visiting with my pals yesterday but I didn’t have to spend a million. (I confess it was hard not to go crazy). And if I did start exercising with people imagine the grin I might be sporting throughout the day.

I am an independent soul and I crave my solitude most of the time but I need to break more ground and push myself out the door physically and mentally. Hmmm. A wine club sounds like a good idea…….

About baba paul

Crazy for photography, jewelry, travel and people. Most of the photos on this site were taken with an iphone!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happiness

  1. Dawn says:

    That reminds me….I’m working on a group trip to Paris in September. Would love to have you in our group!
    I feel the same way about solitude and interaction…..although I find some social situations very emotionally draining. Learning to avoid those is an art in itself. When I’m with like minded, curious, open minded people I’m at my best. 🙂

  2. Sam Reynolds says:

    Happiness. Live in the moment. Look for the good in other people and don’t focus totally on yourself. I have found that most people have something great to share if you can find it out about them…and what a delight when you can……Being around like minded people helps and I can put in a good word for Penland….It is my absolute favorite place to be and I have always met the most fascinating people every time I go there. Bring your wine to Penland.

  3. we were in the enameling class with Baba this past weekend at Arrowmont and she is absolutely right!! being around sharing, creative people is so invigorating. it is like the first day of spring for the soul.

    and by the way, Baba, you were the star of the class.

    ps when you come to nashville you have a place to stay anytime.

    • baba paul says:

      Yeah right! You were the star Matt! Thank goodness too. We needed a leader. I really loved it and am serious about a beach weekend. I must have been channeling Erin last night because I was knee deep in red wine! Xxx

Leave a Reply

