Kiawah

 

The Road to Kiawah, SC

 

We spent a wonderful weekend in Kiawah this past weekend celebrating my mother in law’s 80th birthday. The drive into Kiawah really stirred my blood. It looked so much like Old Florida and the places of my childhood. Gnarled oak trees dripping with moss, swampland that surely was teaming with unseen predators, winding rivers and of course the ocean. My bones started humming with recognition and it made me long for Northern Florida.

Which leads me to the age-old question of “Can you actually go home again”?  Would I recognize my childhood haunts? Would it “feel” the same, smell the same? Could I preserve old memories without obliterating all I loved about my childhood? Could I even fit in? I contemplate the idea of moving home when the kids are older mostly because I haven’t found my way in NC. It doesn’t sing to my bones the way Florida does and I don’t seem to have a foothold here even after 16 years. I wonder if I will ever feel settled or always be searching for my place in the world. I hope I will even have the option later in life to explore and  heed the physical pull of the “right” place for me.

About baba paul

Crazy for photography, jewelry, travel and people. Most of the photos on this site were taken with an iphone!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kiawah

  1. Dawn says:

    Kiawah/Charleston is one of the few areas I would consider living outside of East Tennessee. That road with the Live Oaks is something everyone should experience….it’s just breathtaking.
    BTW….the other place I might relocate is Southern France….same kind of feeling for me. I guess you could say “you know it when you feel it”. Same thing for me with people. You either get them or you don’t…..

  2. TM says:

    Good stuff Baba.

Leave a Reply

