Collecting

I am a collector. A collector of just about anything. Anything that can make a pile, is a multiple of two, or has no rhyme or reason whatsoever but seems to need to be together. Why do I indulge myself in this almost act of hoarding? It is an act of zen for me. There is the thrill of the hunt followed by the sense of each piece belonging in my realm. Each item NEEDS to be with its mate or its group. Somehow I can take bits of the world and have them make sense together as if their magnetic force field willed them to be reunited. If you think about it in people terms, it’s the same thing. People you have collected and moved through life with. Whose lives have touched you in a way to leave an imprint on your memory. Some get carried forward and mix and mingle with old and new friends and others get tucked away but are never forgotten.

  

 

 

 

 

About baba paul

Crazy for photography, jewelry, travel and people. Most of the photos on this site were taken with an iphone!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Collecting

  1. katemckinnon says:

    I’ve been collecting things all of my life, and am just now trying to be a person who isn’t holding onto things. It’s been an interesting experience, letting things go. All phases are lovely, the finding, the keeping, and the letting go.

    • baba paul says:

      How right you are. In many ways it is easier to let people go. In my collections of things like rocks, fossils and shells, I don’t tend to be stagnate. I move things, reassemble bowls, take things out and look at them again and oddly I don’t feel attached. It’s the beads and stuff that I hoarded because of what I thought was necessity that are hard to deal with. It weighs me down thinking about how to get rid of them and the time involved!

      • katemckinnon says:

        It’s hard to realize that one may have stocked one’s LIFE with the wrong things. I’ve been trying to change course for a few years now, and make a little headway all of the time.

Leave a Reply

