Cobwebs

My gosh, it has been quite sometime since I did a good cleaning of my studio. (And my head for that matter!) Cobwebs are everywhere, dust bunnies are on the loose and I’m finding loose stones in the strangest places. So cleanup time has begun. Luckily this also means that I have been making my way to the third floor and actually working. I’ve been on an enameling roll except that came to a screeching halt when the mapp gas producer recalled the canisters for a faulty valve. Yikes. I’m thinking it’s time to upgrade all of my torch situations so I have spent countless hours researching what that might look like. One torch is on order and the other is still up for debate.

Enamelled earrings waiting to go into the shop! Progress!

About baba paul

Crazy for photography, jewelry, travel and people. Most of the photos on this site were taken with an iphone!
This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cobwebs

  1. Joelle Kurrus says:

    Go ahead and inspire me to clean up my studio. During these cold winter days and a new puppy, I have been working in front of the fireplace in the living room but I really do need to get my space in order. Thanks!
    Your torch fired enamel pieces are great. I just order my torch and went in search of Mapp Gas with the same result you mentioned. Home Depot said they would have a new supply in three days. I would use my oxy propane torch but Barbara Lewis mentions in her book that this gas can muddy colors. What torch are you working with?

  2. baba paul says:

    Joelle, it’s the oxy/acetylene that muddies the colors. You have the right combo it is really a matter of how big your flame is! The mapp gas situation has been a wake up call for me. I will always do leak checks even if it is for small canisters like that!

    I signed up to take Joanna’s class in August at Penland. It is a lottery but hopefully I’ll get in. Come back to NC and take it with me!! xxx

  3. dawn says:

    Your studio looks awesome…..mine has never,ever been half that orgainized!
    Love the earrings. Be sure and post your new tools,too!

    • baba paul says:

      What new tools! I’m in a muddle about torches! I ordered the little smith ocy acetylene setup from my welder but now I’m having second thoughts. I’ve been researching for days!

Leave a Reply

